Peach Cobbler – When I was seventeen

map_of_sellersburg_in

When I was almost 17, I finished school with good grades in everything (well except math and gym – no one is perfect).  My parents, as an award of my good behaviour, gave me the opportunity to choose between a motorcycle and a month in the USA.

Don’t ask me why, but I chose the USA. That was a big surprise (and relief) for my parents, but you now, teenagers are never logic – all my friends had a motorcycle and now that I had the chance I decided to continue pedestrian!

So everything was arranged and I was to spend a whole month by my own with a family in the States.  My first REAL adventure

A big group of Spanish kids took off from their country, arrived to Chicago and were distributed all through the country with school buses.  The last stop of my bus – with only 5 of us still in it – was late at night in a town called Sellersburg – Indiana

i-065_nb_exit_009_04

The first two minutes were hilarious – me trying to shake hands with a girl that tried to kiss me in the cheek (I had been instructed that Americans don’t like to be kissed and Stacy – the girl – had been said that the way Spanish people said hello was with a kiss on the cheek).

From that same moment until I had to leave I discovered lots of things.  Some I can confess – Willy Nelson, eating ice-cream late at night, what’s a red neck, that a cocktail was named after me, baloney sandwiches – and some that I will take with me to the grave 🙂

maytecavall copia

But one thing is for real, I was adopted by the best family of the world : Mom (Sue) and Dad (William).  Two big brothers (David and Steven) that teased me and took me to the movies.  And two beautiful (inside & outside) sisters – Paige and Stacy with whom I shared room, confidences, lots of laughs and learned that growing up could be so much fun. So much I had to go back again and would had stayed if I did not love MY family so much.

This one is for all of them: for my 2 Families (but specially for my mom Sue)

GRANDMOTHER’S FAVORITE PEACH COBBLER

peachcobbler_1182013

(in slanted what I have changed from the original recipe)
Ingredients:
1 stick butter
1 1/2 cups sugar (brown sugar)
1 cup flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 cup milk
1 can (30 ounces) sliced peaches in syrup (4 big fresh peaches)
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/3 teaspoon nutmeg

1 cup of blackberries
Preparation:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Melt butter in 9 x 13 casserole dish.

Separate half cup sugar, all of cinnamon & nutmeg.

Separate peaches from syrup. (peel 4 big ripe peaches and cut them in cubes)
Mix 1 cup sugar and the other dry ingredients together in a bowl.
Stir in milk & syrup from peaches.(if you are doing it with fresh peaches stir only the milk)

Put peaches in casserole dish with melted butter. (Toss in the fresh blachberries).  Pour batter over the top of peaches. Mix cinnamon, nutmeg & 1/2 cup of sugar mixture and sprinkle over top of batter.
Bake for 45 minutes to 1 hour or until top crust is golden brown.

Music to bake: Ringo Starr – You’re sixteen (your beautiful and your mine)

2 comentarios en “Peach Cobbler – When I was seventeen

Responder

